AAbout the Tucson Poetry Festival



Every year, the Tucson Poetry Festival brings regional and national Poets to the Old Pueblo for a weekend of verse, discussion, and creativity. Founded in 1981, the festival is the longest-running event of its kind in Tucson. In the past, TPF has hosted Poetry Slams and competitions for poets of all ages. Festival alumnae include Ofelia Zepeda, Alberto Ríos, Gary Snyder, Czesław Miłosz, Amiri Baraka, Joy Harjo, Wendell Berry, Robert Bly, Rita Dove, Lucille Clifton, Maya Angelou, Gloria Anzaldúa, Yusef Komunyakaa, Diane Di Prima, June Jordan, Sharon Olds, Charles Simic, Louise Glück, Adrienne Rich, Patricia Smith, Juan Felipe Herrera, Luci Tapahanso, Eduardo Corral, Natalie Diaz, Harryette Mullen, CA Conrad, and Laura Tohe, among dozens of others. 

Our Mission

The Tucson Poetry Festival seeks to provide an accessible and diverse celebration of poetry. All festival events are free and open to all members of our community. We collaborate with local businesses and organizations, along with venues that are accessible to all.